Aside

Sticking to it

Ahh my second post in one day!  Hopefully this bodes well for the future!

I just got back from my second gym session of the day- shoulders, abs and 30 mins of cardio- and am about to head to my dad’s to celebrate father’s day.  I wasn’t able to spend the day with him yesterday because I was out of town, but we’re cooking dinner at his house tonight to make up for that.  His job is to make the protein and the dessert and I’m making the sides, one of which is a recipe that I want to share with you before I go!

Are you ready for this?!

Yummy!

Yummy!

I call it bacon and green beans because, well, that’s what it is!

So delicious!

Here’s the recipe in case you’re interested-

Materials:

1. 2 cans of green beans (I use 1 bag of frozen green beans and boil them first just to reduce my sodium intake, but canned green beans are definitely great in this recipe!)
2. 1 package of bacon bits (I use Mario’s bacon pieces)
3. Splash of olive oil
4. 3 Tbl sugar
5. 4 Tbl vinegar

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
2. If you choose to use frozen green beans like I do, go ahead and prepare those first according to packaging directions.  I usually add a little salt to the water as they’re cooking just to season them up a little.  If you’re using canned green beans, go ahead and open the containers and drain them.
3. In the mean time, heat up a skillet with a little bit of olive oil (enough to lightly coat the bottom of the pan) and your bacon pieces.  Once the bacon pieces begin to sizzle a little, go ahead and add your vinegar and sugar.  I usually add the vinegar first, but just beware that it will sizzle even more and may start popping so be careful!!
4. Once the green beans are cooked (or if you’re using canned green beans, once the beans are drained), go ahead and add them to the skillet with the olive oil, bacon pieces, sugar and vinegar.  Stir together until nicely blended (about 1 min or so).  Pour into a pan lined with foil or lightly sprayed with cooking spray.
5. Put the pan of green beans in the oven and cook at 375 degrees F for about 30-40 mins and then enjoy!!  Sometimes I like the vinegar sauce to caramelize a little on top, so I’ll turn on the broiler for a few mins just to help crisp them up a little.

If you’re not a fan of vinegar, don’t let this deter you!  My mom hates vinegar with a passion and she still ate my green beans like a champion with Easter dinner this year!  Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

