Aside

Garnier BB Cream

So last night I shared my recipe with you for the vinegar bacon green beans, but that was nothing in comparison to what my dad made for dessert.  I just had to share a picture of this bad boy with you before anything else because it was SO GOOD.

Blueberry cream cheese pie

Blueberry cream cheese pie

That’s right- take it all in.  The blueberries on top covered the cream cheese/sweetened condensed milk/lemon juice deliciousness that was the filling on top of a pecan shortbread crust.  Desserts like these are so hard to walk away from, but I only allowed myself to take home 1 extra helping.  That’s dedication, my friends!

Ok, now that you’re done drooling (or maybe that’s just me), I figured it was time to share one of my makeup obsessions today.  Let me start by saying that I am a product freak.  I buy everything and try everything and most of the time I get bored with these products pretty quickly.

One of my makeup drawers.. maybe I have a problem?!

One of my makeup drawers.. maybe I have a problem?!

As you can see here, I typically tend to gravitate towards MAC products (can you spot the Studio Fix Fluid and the Studio Scuplt in there??), ELF and Maybelline.

That is until my sister introduced me to the Garnier Fructis BB Cream.

Ta-da!!

Ta-da!!

Oh my gosh… it’s like a nylon stocking for your face (a MAC makeup artist once told me that about the MAC Face and Body foundation, but this BB cream is way more deserving of that statement!!).   I am in no way affiliated with Garnier and am not being compensated for this review, but I just wanted to share my thoughts because I am the type of person that reads reviews on everything before I buy it.  I’ve had one too many incidents where I’ve bought something and just didn’t like it after the first use and couldn’t return it, so I really rely on good, honest reviews to help me find the right products for myself!

I have recently realized that I am getting to the point in my life where I’m starting to see some fine lines and my face isn’t as radiant as it once used to be.  I have typical combination skin, so I’m dry around my nose and the edges of my face, but I can get very oily in the t-zone and my chin. When I was in high school and college I was obsessed with doing anything I could to keep my face matte because of this.  I didn’t want any shine at all.  Over the fast 4-5 years I’ve realized that a little glow is a good thing, and that’s my favorite part of this BB cream! There are a few versions, but the one I use is the Skin Renew Shine Control for combination to oily skin.  I know- this sounds like a total oxymoron to what I just said about a matte face, but this foundation has a way of allowing a natural looking radiance to shine through while still keeping your more oily areas under control.  Sounds like a lot for a little BB cream to accomplish, doesn’t it?  I know, I couldn’t believe it either the first time I tried it.  Generally, my makeup routine starts with a clean, moisturized face and some concealer.  Once I’ve applied my concealer, I then add my foundation.

Garnier Skin Renew BB cream (darker splotch)

Garnier Skin Renew BB cream (darker splotch)

The picture above shows what the BB cream looks like straight out of the container.  The lighter splotch is my MAC Pro-Longwear Concealer.  Currently I am using the medium/dark shade because I do have a pretty good tan, but in the winter time the light/medium works well for me.  I’m generally impressed with the size of the container itself (2 oz) as it seems to last a long time- a little goes a long way which is generally not true of a BB cream.  The consistency is a little more watery than a typical foundation, but I would have to say its consistency is in between the MAC studio fix fluid and the MAC Face and Body foundation.   Here’s what my face looks like with the foundation added:

BB cream and concealer only!

BB cream and concealer only!

I don’t have a “before” picture, but my skin is generally a little redder around my nose, chin and t-zone area, so you can clearly see that the amount of pigment in a small amount of this BB cream is enough to cover any imperfections you may have while still allowing some of your natural skin to show through.  It truly is a skin perfecter, not a skin coverer like so many other foundations out there. I am not a concealer, foundation, and dash of eye makeup girl- I require more time than that.  After applying the foundation, I usually let it sit for about 5 mins while I complete my eye makeup, then I’ll dab an oil absorbing sheet around just to pick up any excess foundation in the creases in my skin and I’ll cover it with some Bare Minerals foundation (just for some extra coverage around my nose, chin and forehead where I tend to see my makeup wear off throughout the day regardless of the foundation I use) and some ELF HD powder.  I contour my face and then, voila, I’m finally finished!!

The final product

The final product

The lighting might be a little bright (we use 100 Watt lightbulbs in the bathroom so I can see every imperfection when getting ready), but you can still get the idea that the BB cream covers well but still looks radiant.  The color is great too, especially considering my face does not tan at all yet after makeup my face still blends well with my neck.

So here are my final thoughts on this product:
1. The size of the container is great- 2 oz- because a little goes a long way
2. Generally easy to apply- I use a Sigma F80 brush and blend quickly because it does dry within seconds which can make blending a little harder
3. Great shades- even though there’s only 2 colors, the lighter color is perfect for my skin in the winter and the medium/dark color is great for my skin in the summer with a small addition of bronzer
4. Long lasting- this BB cream is thicker than many of the BB creams I’ve tried in the past, and this seems to lead to it lasting through the day while not getting “cakey”.  I especially like this little characteristic because that makes it a great summertime foundation.

I hope this review helps!  Has anyone else out there tried this BB cream before (or another one that you feel is just as good)?  I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

