Aside

Greek Chicken Recipe

Man, what a busy day!! I started my morning off with a 30 min spin class and some biceps followed by lunch with a friend at Panera (I loveeee their Bgreen smoothie) and some shopping.  I barely had time after shopping to hop in the shower and get ready for dinner at Firebirds with another friend.  Even though my day seemed a little hectic, I would prefer my summer to be filled with things to do.  I hate just sitting around the house!!

Last night was a ton of fun!  George and I went to my mom’s house where we got to enjoy a little afternoon sun before a huge storm came in. Luckily I had time to take my baby on a little kayak ride with me!  We’ve been working really hard on trying to get her used to going in the water with us (she LOVES the beach!!), but she’s still a little scared.

Rue in her little life jacket.  So cute but oh so scared!

Rue in her little life jacket. So cute but oh so scared!

Not a fan of the life jacket....

Not a fan of the life jacket….

I got her this little pink life jacket hoping that would help take some of the stress of paddling away from her, but I was kind of disappointed with the way it functioned.  Her little head barely stayed above water and she panicked a bit, so I don’t think we’ll be forcing her in the lake again any time soon.  She did enjoy the kayak ride though 🙂 she was almost falling asleep in my arms!

She was too busy watching the lake around her to look up at the camera!

She was too busy watching the lake around her to look up at the camera!

Anyways, after doing a little kayaking and swimming (we were hearing some rumbles of thunder in the distance the whole time) a torrential downpour started and we decided to move our little party indoors.  My mom started de-thawing some chicken and it was obvious she wasn’t really sure what she wanted to do with it (not to mention she also wasn’t really expecting 2 more people to show up for dinner!!) so I suggested making Greek chicken.  I’ve never made it before, but I saw a bottle of Greek dressing in the pantry and thought that sounded good. I asked if she had a few extra ingredients, and once I was given a “yes” I went ahead and started preparing.

My mom's kitchen has everything!

My mom’s kitchen has everything! Not pictured: chicken and frozen spinach

I cooked up some spinach and seasoned it with a little garlic, salt, and onion powder and added some feta cheese to the mixture.   Once that was done, I seasoned my chicken and filled it with the spinach and cheese mixture and popped it into the oven to bake for a little!   I served the chicken with some Annie’s white cheddar mac and cheese, corn, and homemade pita chips.  When my stepdad told me it was probably one of his top 5 meals that he’d ever eaten, I figured I had to share it with you.

Here’s the recipe: 

Ingredients:
-3 chicken breasts
-About 1/2 of a bottle of Greek salad dressing (I used Girard’s Greek feta dressing)
-1 cup frozen spinach (or about 2 cups fresh)
-1 cup feta cheese
-Onion powder
-Garlic powder
-Salt and pepper
-Red pepper

Directions:
1. De-thaw chicken breasts in microwave.  While chicken breasts are de-thawing, go ahead and cook frozen spinach according to packaging directions.  I added about 1/2 cup of water to a small saucepan and let the water boil, then added my spinach and waited for it to come to a second boil.  Once that happened, I put a little salt in the water and put a lid on the pot and let it simmer for about 7 mins.
2. As spinach is cooking, take your de-thawed chicken breasts and cut them into pieces (or leave whole if you would prefer).  Since we had 5 people and 3 chicken breasts, I cut them in half so that we ended up with about 5 breasts.  I then slit the chicken length-wise to prepare to stuff if with the spinach.  Season both sides of the chicken with salt, pepper, red pepper, onion powder and garlic powder to taste.  Transfer chicken into a small casserole dish and let sit until spinach mixture is complete.
3. Once the spinach is fully cooked, drain it (I try to get as much water out as possible so I usually squeeze the spinach with a spoon a couple of times… watery spinach never tastes good!!) and season with salt, garlic and onion powder.  I add a liberal amount because I like a lot of flavor in my food.  Once the seasoning is stirred in, add about 1/3 cup of feta cheese and 1/3 cup Greek dressing to the mixture and put it back on the burner to let the cheese partially melt and the flavors meld, about 3-4 mins.
4. Once spinach mixture is complete, add to the center of the chicken that you slit open.  Try to cover the spinach mixture with as much of the chicken as possible so it doesn’t dry out.
5.  Pour the remaining Greek dressing over the chicken, put the lid on the casserole dish and cook the chicken at 350 degrees F for about 30 mins.

Once the chicken was cooked, I poured some more feta cheese over top (I love cheese) and kept the lid off and returned it to the oven and let the cheese broil on top for about 5 more mins.  You can choose to omit this step if you want, but I love it when the top of the chicken gets a little brown and the cheese gets a little melted.

Into the oven it goes!

Into the oven it goes!

Sorry I don’t have an after picture… once those little babies came out my family grabbed them faster than I expected!  This was a super easy dinner to make and it’s one that I know my family will request again!

Enjoy!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

