Aside

A day full of errands

I am a little behind in my posts (sorry for not sticking to the 5x/week blog posts- I’m trying!!), so I wanted to fill you in a little on my day and finds from yesterday!

Yesterday morning started off with a doctor’s appointment downtown after a nice filling breakfast of some peanut butter overnight oats, courtesy of this recipe.  I have been following the Peanut Butter Fingers blog for a couple of months now and all of her recipes that I’ve tried so far have been great.  This breakfast definitely didn’t disappoint!  I thought I was going to be weirded out by eating cold oatmeal, but the addition of peanut butter and the chewiness of the oats really made it taste good.  I added a little bit of Fage 0% greek yogurt to my bowl with some extra almond milk this morning just to “wake it up” a little.  I wish I had a picture of that bad boy but I was in a rush to make it to my appointment so I scarfed it down in 5 minutes and ran out the door.

Even though going to the doctor is never fun, I wasn’t too disappointed because my doctor’s office is located right next to a Trader Joe’s.

Trader Joe's!!

Trader Joe’s!!

My plan was to hit up the grocery store after I was done and then head to the gym on my way home.  I was looking for a few things at the store, specifically in the produce section.  I don’t know how they do it, but Trader Joe’s never disappoints when it comes to vegetables and fruits, not only in price but in taste and quality as well!  I have been dying to buy some red peppers but they haven’t been on sale lately.  Our local grocery store sells those peppers for a whopping $2.49 A PIECE.  I couldn’t believe that!!  Luckily Trader Joe’s had those little babies for $0.99 so I snagged a couple of them to make with dinner.

I don’t know about you guys, but when I go into Trader Joe’s I get very excited because they have a lot of unique food offerings. My little trip to grab some produce turned into so much more!

onion dip, stevia and burgers, oh my!

Onion dip, stevia and burgers, oh my!  The peppers never actually made it to this picture because I started snacking when I got home :/

I kept telling myself that I couldn’t go too crazy because I really wanted to stop at the gym before I went home and there isn’t much space in the mini fridge in the gym office.  Regardless of the warnings to myself, I still ended up bringing home these chili lime chicken burgers, pizza veggie burgers, and caramelized onion dip.

Oh my goodness.  I can’t tell you how good that dip is!  My sister brought some over for memorial day weekend a few weeks ago and my family polished the whole container off in 1 sitting.  I figured I would get some to enjoy with veggies this time instead of chips!

I had to try everything, so last night George and I took a little break from building some cornhole boards (yes, he’s obsessed after playing at my mom’s over the weekend and took it on himself to build his own set) and grilled ourselves a nice dinner.

 

George's board is the grey goose one and the other board is going to be Captain!

One of the 2 boards… the other is Captain.  He’s so crafty!!

While George was working on perfecting those boards, I prepped some chicken with a McCormick mexican spiced seasoning packet and let the peppers marinate with it in the fridge for a little.  While the grill was heating up, I chopped up some broccoli and marinated it in a little olive oil, garlic salt and onion powder and roasted it at 450 degrees for about 15 mins.  I also grabbed 2 of those chili lime chicken patties from Trader Joe’s and set them out to thaw as well.

Once I got everything started on the grill, I took my broccoli out of the oven and added a little fig balsamic (omg, AMAZING even though it sounds weird!!) and threw it back in the oven to roast for a few more minutes as the meat was finishing.

This was the first time I grilled dinner myself (usually George is the grill master…. I didn’t want to let on that I could learn to grill because he would get too spoiled!!) because George was working on the cornhole set and I was HUNGRY and didn’t want to wait on him to finish.

I was pretty proud of myself… the chicken and peppers turned out great, and the chili lime chicken burger was awesome with a little Wholly Guacamole, some chipotle lime spicy salsa and spinach leaves.  George wasn’t a big fan of the burgers because he thought they were too thin, but I loved them.  Maybe it was because of all of the toppings I had on it rather than the burger itself, but I don’t care!  The broccoli and peppers were great with some of that caramelized onion dip as well.  Nope, I couldn’t leave that out of my meal!

Out of everything I got today, I think my favorite purchase was the liquid stevia.  Being from the south, I am a huge iced tea fan.  I have never drank it as sweet tea (blasphemy, I know) because I don’t really like overly sweet drinks and I like to mix it with a little bit of lemonade.  I mistakenly allowed myself to try the sweet tea from bojangles that was accidentally give to me and George over the weekend and boy was it good.  It tasted like dessert in my mouth!! I had to try the stevia with our new batch of unsweet tea and it worked great!! I only had to put in about 2 drops to get it nice and sweet, and no stirring was required!  I will definitely be able to find some use for that once I get my Keurig this weekend… can you tell how badly I’ve wanted that machine?!

Readers- What is your favorite grocery store find?

Leave a Reply

