Aside

BodyPump and Bagel Sandwiches

Hey everyone!

Today has been another busy day.  I have been in this slump the past few weeks (as I detailed last week) but I think I’m finally starting to break through.  Good news!! 🙂

After thinking seriously about what I wanted to do to fix my problems, I came up with a few ideas:

1. Quit paying attention to counting carbs and focus more on counting calories and try to stick to 1800 calories/day
2. Really evaluate my hunger every time I pick something up to put in my mouth before I actually do it
3. Don’t stay away from desserts but allow myself a small indulgence each day… this includes yogurt blended with pudding, fudgesicles, fruit leather, and small chocolate pieces
4. Try to eat a snack in between meals so I’m not starving at meal times (this is where I tend to overeat and can ramp up my calorie intake to 1000 calories at dinner time easily)
5. Incorporate more vegetables into my meals so that I get fuller on lower calorie items
6. Mix it up with my gym routines

I’ve been doing a little bit of everything the past couple of days and it definitely has me feeling better about myself.  I didn’t eat a large dessert last night (for the first time in a longggggg time) and I thought that this morning would be a great day to start tackling goal #6.  I started my day off with a group class at the gym rather than coming up with my own routine.

I’ve been wanting to try some group fitness classes for a while but our gym just doesn’t offer it.  I decided to turn to the internet to find a gym with some BodyPump or BodyAttack classes nearby and finally got lucky…. I found a gym for $10/month that includes classes!

I printed out a free 3 day pass last night and really struggled with myself  about whether or not I was actually going to go today.  It’s not that I didn’t want to do the class, it was more that I was going by myself.  When I enter into new situations I get really anxious without someone else there to help refocus my attention to.  Before I went to bed I decided that I wouldn’t set an alarm and if I got up in time I would go.

Well, I guess today was my lucky day!  I got up at 9 for a 10:15 class and brought my free pass and I.D.

Yay for 3 day freebies!

Yay for 3 day freebies!

The gym looks like an awesome place with plenty of cardio equipment (including AMT machines…. finally!!), some machines, a real locker room and a large space for free weights and machines.  I had just enough time for a 15 min warm up on the AMT and then headed up to my BodyPump class for the first time!

The squats and lunges were definitely the hardest for me but the upper body exercises were a little easy.  I wasn’t sure how much weight I could do because I had never taken the class before, but I know next time I will have to challenge myself more.

Yes, I said next time!  After my BodyPump class I just felt invigorated.  It was so nice to be able to go to a class and have someone else tell me what to do rather than always picking the same exercises depending on what body part I had chosen.  Because of that, I have decided that I am going to pursue a gym membership at 2 gyms so that I can enjoy classes when I want along with continuing at my 24 hour gym so that I can workout whenever I want.  The only downside is that this gym only offers BodyPump, not BodyAttack or BodyCombat which I’ve heard includes a little bit of cardio as well.  Has anyone else out there taken one of the other “Body” classes before?  Am I missing out on a lot?!

With a new, positive attitude I headed to lunch with my friend Randi.  I stopped off at Starbucks first because a large green tea was just calling my name.

image

I had to laugh because when I looked at the side of my cup the abbreviation used for my order reminded me of Jersey Shore (yea I loved that show, don’t judge haha)

GTL= green tea lemonade or maybe "gym, tan, laundry?"

GTL= green tea lemonade or maybe “gym, tan, laundry?”

 

I met up with Randi at a small New York style sandwich shop and got a Hawaiian bagel with chicken salad, lettuce, tomato, and sharp white cheddar cheese.  I couldn’t forget adding in some Sun Chips.  If you’ve never had a Hawaiian bagel before, think Hawaiian rolls but in bagel form.  Delicious!

Eat me pleaseee

Eat me pleaseee

Lunch was great and we chatted about our food struggles and my recent gym workouts.  Randi and I have been workout partners for the past year, so it was nice to be able to talk about a different routine!  After lunch, I headed to Target to get a Solocup for my Keurig machine (that I still haven’t gotten yet… have to wait until Sunday) and some Market Pantry S’mores coffee.  Along the way, several other things caught my eye (aka food stuff) and I ended up spending over $100.  Funny how that always seems to happen there!

In order to continue on my pathway to resisting snacking, I called up another friend and Rue and I met her at a local park/1.3 mile walking trail and went on a little walk.  We were able to complete the loop once and then had to head home because it looked like a storm was brewing.

Ominous clouds

Ominous clouds

Rue still had a great time though and I got rewarded with lots of kissies.

Rue kissies are the best

Rue kissies are the best

Now that I’m home, I’m updating this really quickly while I’ve got some veggies roasting in the oven.

Nom Nom

Nom Nom

Time to eat the rest of that chicken salad sandwich (yep, you heard that right… I saved half my sandwich AND chips to eat later.  Talk about self control!!) and some carrots and squash before heading back to my gym for round 2.

Have a great night everyone!!

Leave a Reply

