Aside

Raffaldini Vineyards

After a whirlwind week, I’m finally back home and ready to blog!  It was great to be in Florida for the big engagement, but it was even better to get home and share the exciting news with my friends and family (while drooling over the ring of course)!!

I’m going to recap what I remember of the proposal as promised, followed by a surprise, so keep on reading!

The second night of our vacation, George and I had plans to head out for a sunset beach walk followed by dinner at our favorite restaurant in Destin, McGuire’s.  They’ve actually been featured on Food Network for their variety of burgers, most notably the “garbage burger.”  McGuire’s garbage burger is described on eater.com as:

“3/4 lb grilled black angus hamburger with liverwurst, corned beef, sauteed onions, sauteed mushrooms, jalapenos, black olives, banana peppers, pineapple rings, wasabi, guacamole, pepperonis, chili, sour cream, marinara, barbecue sauce, peanut butter, tomato, red onion, five types of cheese, bacon, remoulade sauce, ice cream, hot fudge, and a maraschino cherry on top with an Irish flag on it.”

George was talking about getting that burger all day and, as gross as it sounds, I was secretly hoping he would get it just so that I could see it in person!  Typically the wait at McGuire’s is anywhere from 1-2 hours for a party of 2, so we decided to stop by there first and put our name in, do our walk on the beach, then come back for dinner.  I went in the restaurant to put our name down while George waited in the car, but luck was on our side and they had a table available upstairs on the outdoor porch right away.  I was excited because waiting for dinner when you’re HUNGRY is never fun!

We changed our plans around and actually sat and enjoyed a nice dinner as the sun was setting over the harbor.  I opted for the pork chops and George got a burger, but not the garbage burger. 😦 My meal was HUGE and came with 2 full pork chops, a baked potato, a Caesar salad, applesauce and a cheese stuffed tomato half.

image

View from the upstairs deck in McGuire’s

After a great dinner, we  decided that we still wanted to go to the beach to walk off some of that food since we were so stuffed.  It was completely dark at this point and we missed the sun setting on the beach, so we tried to find a place with some light since the moon wasn’t even out.  We ended up at our favorite beach bar and got pretty excited once we realized they were setting off some fireworks out back.  After the fireworks show was over, we walked along the shoreline and started talking about our relationship and how much fun we have together and how excited we were for this trip.  As we were walking back to the car, George was acting frantic and handed me his phone after saying that he dropped his keys in the sand.

After I shined the flashlight at the ground so he could look, he turned around and dropped to one knee with a conch shell in his hand that we actually found in Destin a few years earlier.  Apparently he didn’t say he dropped his keys, he said he found a seashell in the sand!  He told me he would be honored to have me as his wife and asked if I would marry him. Of course I said yes, but I was so shocked that I was shaking.  I just couldn’t believe that the moment I’ve been waiting years for was finally happening!  I needed a minute to calm down before we went to meet up with some friends, so we walked to a more private area next to the water where we talked about some exciting plans for our future as well as reminisced on some times from our past.  We also talked about his nerves over the proposal (the ring kept falling out of the shell in his pocket while we were eating dinner and he explained that was why he went to the bathroom 5 different times over the hour!!) and the ring.  It turns out he designed it himself and had special hearts put in underneath the halo, one to show that I have his heart always and one to symbolize our family…. me, George and baby Rue of course!  I thought it was so sweet and romantic and hearing that made it so much more special knowing that he put that much time and thought into designing the ring himself.

I feel so lucky to have found a man that really wants to be with me and shows it every day with his generosity and care that he puts into every action and detail when it comes to me.  This was a great night and I will remember it forever!

And now for the surprise….

I finally have a regular fashion post to share!  Today was the first day this summer where I put on normal clothes for the day instead of bummin’ it in my gym clothes.  My mom, George’s mom and I all went to go look at a vineyard about an hour from our house as a possible venue for our wedding and reception.  Ahhhh!!  I still can’t believe it’s real!

image

Dress: H&M
Bracelet: David Yurman
Earrings (below): Target

image

Also, here’s a quick peak at the vineyard we went to today. It’s named Raffaldini Vineyards and it’s an Italian winery rather than your typical NC muscadine winery… that’s our biggest stipulation to winery weddings.  George and I both enjoy wine but cannot do the sweet stuff.  George was unable to come with us today, so I brought him home a bottle of Pinot Grigio and I’m crossing my fingers that he’ll love it as much as I do!

View when you pull in to the drive

View when you pull in to the drive

Pond in front of the villa overlooking the Appalachian Mountains

Pond in front of the villa overlooking the Appalachian Mountains

View from the garden overlooking the piazza where we'd have the reception

View from the garden overlooking the piazza where we’d have the reception

I’m pretty sure I’m sold on the location, but my mom and I have plans to look at one more place tomorrow just in case we can’t get the date we want at Raffaldini.  I will keep you posted with pictures of the other location tomorrow!

For now, I’d love to hear your opinions on wedding venues.  If you’ve gotten married, where you do you choose to do it and why?  If you’re not married yet, where would you want to get married?

I think George and I both agree we want an outdoor wedding because we both love a great breeze, sunshine, and George wants to set up multiple cornhole games in the lawn (that was a major “must have” for him on our wedding wants list, haha).

Leave a Reply

